top of page


Mosinee senior Toren Holtz was one of eight Indians named to the 2021 All-Great Northern Conference Boys Soccer Team. (Submitted photo)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Conference runner-up Mosinee had two first-team selections and eight overall picks on the 2021 All-Great Northern Conference Boys Soccer Team, as voted on by the six conference coaches following the season.

Mosinee seniors Toren Holtz and Cole Holtz were among the 11 players named to the first team, with Toren Holtz earning a unanimous selection.

Toren Holtz led the Great Northern Conference in goals scored with 18 and total points with 42 (includes six assists). Cole Holtz was the top player in the conference in assists with nine as the Indians finished 8-2 and in second place in the GNC behind Lakeland.

Sophomore Cole Kowalski was a second-team pick, and seniors Ethan Tazelaar and Ondrej Napravnik, juniors Garret Donohue and Keaton Wieloch, and sophomore Josh Ivey earned honorable mention status.

Wieloch was second in the GNC in goals against average (1.3 per game) and fifth in save percentage (0.768).

Lakeland’s Yaroslav Myshchyshyn was named Offensive Player of the Year, Rhinelander’s Gavin Ostermann was picked as the Defensive Player of the Year, and Lakeland’s Ihor Myshchyshyn was chosen as the Coach of the Year after leading the Thunderbirds to the GNC championship.

2021 All-Great Northern Conference Boys Soccer Team

First team (*denotes unanimous selection): *Yaroslav Myshchyshyn, so., Lakeland; *D.J. Ratajczyk, sr., Lakeland; *Zach Rudolph, jr., Medford; *Toren Holtz, sr., Mosinee; *Owen Uebe, sr., Northland Pines; *Beau Howard, sr., Rhinelander; Bo Peterson, sr., Lakeland; Quinton Tlusty, sr., Medford; Cole Holtz, sr., Mosinee; Ryan Muench, jr., Northland Pines; *Gavin Ostermann, sr., Rhinelander (goalkeeper).

Second team: Alex Samolinski, sr., Antigo; Chandler Savel, jr., Lakeland; Abe Evenhouse, sr., Lakeland; Silas Wipf, jr., Medford; Sam Blair, sr., Medford; Cole Kowalski, so., Mosinee; Mason Hogenmiller, sr., Northland Pines; Tucker Frederickson, sr., Rhinelander; Alexx Huff, sr., Rhinelander; Charlie Heck, jr., Rhinelander; Carter Quade, jr., Lakeland (goalkeeper).

Honorable mention: Trevin Walbeck, sr., Antigo; Sam Bretl, sr., Antigo; Casey Van Hefty, jr., Lakeland; Tyler Tharmann, jr., Lakeland; Ashton Anderson, jr., Lakeland; Aaron Schield, jr., Medford; Gage Neubauer, sr., Medford; Josh Ivey, so., Mosinee; Ethan Tazelaar, sr., Mosinee; Ondrej Napravnik, sr., Mosinee; Garret Donohue, jr., Mosinee; Gabe Hickson, sr., Northland Pines; Drew Christensen, sr., Northland Pines; Leo Losch, jr., Rhinelander; Braden Mork, jr., Rhinelander; Frank McKenna, sr., Antigo (goalkeeper); Keaton Wieloch, jr., Mosinee (goalkeeper).

Offensive Player of the Year: Yaroslav Myshchyshyn, Lakeland.

Defensive Player of the Year: Gavin Ostermann, Rhinelander.

Coach of the Year: Ihor Myshchyshyn, Lakeland.

196 views0 comments