top of page


Zaleski Sports

SCHOFIELD – The Marshfield wrestling team earned six spots in next week’s sectional with three champions and three runner-up finishes at the WIAA Division 1 regional on Saturday at D.C. Everest High School.

Hoyt Blaskowski, Gabe Pugh and Brett Franklin earned regional titles, and Ryan Dolezal, Garrett Willuweit and Camren Dennee all finished second for the Tigers. The six wrestlers advance to the Division 1 sectional at Wausau East on Feb. 6. The top two finishers at the sectional in each weight class advance to the WIAA Division 1 State Individual Wrestling Tournament at Kaukauna High School on Feb. 13.

Blaskowski (12-0), a sophomore, won the 132-pound title with an 8-0 major decision over Blake Heal of D.C. Everest in the championship match.

Pugh improved to 8-0 this season with an 11-2 major decision over Gabriel Ramos of Wausau West in the 138-pound championship.

Franklin is now 10-1 after pinning Dakota Pagel of D.C. Everest in 5:10 of the 145-pound championship match.

Dolezal suffered his first loss of the season in the 152-pound finals when he was pinned by Demitrio Covarrubius, falling to 12-1.

Willuweit advanced at 160 pounds, placing second. He lost in the finals to D.C. Everest’s Freddy Lehrke, 11-4 and is now 11-2 this season.

Also moving on to sectionals for Marshfield is junior Camren Dennee. Dennee also took his first loss of the season, after he was pinned by Reed Napiwocki of Wausau West in 1:23 in the 170-pound championship. Dennee came back to defeat Nick Klug of D.C. Everest 11-4 in a second-place wrestleback.

WIAA Division 1 Wrestling Regional

Jan. 30 at D.C. Everest High School

Team scores: 1. D.C. Everest 223; 2. Wausau West 218; 3. Marshfield 188.5; 4. Rhinelander 119; 5. Lakeland/Mercer 84; 6. Merrill 83; 7. Wausau East 77.

Top two in each weight class advance to individual sectional Feb. 6 at Wausau East

106 pounds

Championship: Noah Rhea (WE) def. Savannah Danielson (WW) 12-5.

Third place: Josh Danens (DC) def. Jace Kelnhofer (MAR), 4-3.

Second-place wrestleback: Danielson (WW) def. Danens (DC), 6-0.

113 pounds

Championship: Easton Cooper (DC) pinned Tanner Schmidt (RH), 0:47.

Third place: Logan Brewer (WW) won major dec. over Landon Taylor (MAR), 12-2.

Second-place wrestleback: Schmidt (RH) pinned Brewer (WW), 3:36.

120 pounds

Championship: Tim Fox (RH) def. Terrance Banks (DC), 7-0.

Third place: Hope Trevino (WW) pinned Jon Hart (MER), 0:44.

Second-place wrestleback: Trevino (WW) def. Banks (DC).

126 pounds

Championship: Gabriel Galang (WW) def. Hugh Wiese (RH), 8-3.

Third place: Ben Nemcek (LM) def. Cameron Saari (DC), 4-2.

Second-place wrestleback: Wiese (RH) def. Nemcek (LM), 5-1.

132 pounds

Championship: Hoyt Blaskowski (MAR) won major dec. over Blake Heal (DC), 8-0.

Third place: Brady Abb (LM) pinned Tristan Brewington (MER), 4:21.

Fifth place: Derek Danielson (WW) pinned Robert Schramke (RH), 2:41.

138 pounds

Championship: Gabe Pugh (MAR) won major dec. over Gabriel Ramos (WW), 11-2.

Third place: Maddox Rye (WE) pinned Emmitt Peterson (DC), 1:00.

Fifth place: Logan Strasburg (LM).

145 pounds

Championship: Brett Franklin (MAR) pinned Dakota Pagel (DC), 5:10.

Third place: Garrison Stockwell (WE) pinned Nik Zastrow (MER), 1:41.

Fifth place: Donavan Lor (WW).

152 pounds

Championship: Demitrio Covarrubius (DC) pinned Ryan Dolezal (MAR), 1:05.

Third place: Zane Grams (LM) pinned Cayden Neri (RH), 3:34.

Fifth place: Travis Juedes (WE) def. Brian Ball (MER), 3-0.

160 pounds

Championship: Freddy Lehrke (DC) def. Garrett Willuweit (MAR), 11-2.

Third place: Christian Emerson (WE) pinned Patrick Grams (LM), 1:43.

Fifth place: Emily Mueller (WW).

170 pounds

Championship: Reed Napiwocki (WW) pinned Camren Dennee (MAR), 1:23.

Third place: Nick Klug (DC) pinned Jerry Goselin (LM), 1:35.

Fifth place: Andrew Olson (WE).

Second-place wrestleback: Dennee (MAR) def. Klug (DC), 11-4.

182 pounds

Championship: Joseph Berens (WW) pinned Ryder Depies (MER), 3:58.

Third place: Cody Weix (MAR) def. Dalton Gribowski (DC), 2-1.

Fifth place: Joe Fugle (RH) pinned Tommy Howard (LM), 3:09.

Second-place wrestleback: Depies (MER) won major dec. over Weix (MAR), 10-0.

195 pounds

Championship: Nathan LaRue (WW) pinned Wyatt Bathke (MER), 1:14.

Third place: Ben Sinclair (RH) pinned Jaden Wilhelm (MAR), 0:35.

Fifth place: Braxton Rickert (DC) pinned Leonard Chosa (LM), 2:48.

220 pounds

Championship: Orion Boe (DC) pinned Colton Geurink (WW), 2:28.

Third place: Landon Saglin (LM) def. Adrian Kruger (MAR), 2-0.

Fifth place: Thomas Rodman (WE) pinned Joe Evenson (RH), 0:55.

Second-place wrestleback: Geurink (WW) pinned Saglin (LM), 2:34.

285 pounds

Championship: Jack Johnson (DC) def. Owen Kurtz (RH), 2-1, TB-1.