top of page


Marshfield wrestlers Ryan Dolezal, Gabe Pugh and Hoyt Blaskowski won sectional titles to earn spots at next week's WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament. (Photo courtesy of the Marshfield Tigers Wrestling Facebook page)

Zaleski Sports

WAUSAU – The Marshfield wrestling team earned a spot in the state team tournament and three wrestlers will move on to the state individual tournament after earning titles at the WIAA Division 1 wrestling sectional on Saturday at Wausau East High School.

Marshfield won the sectional title with 111 points, with Holmen second at 106 also earning a spot at the WIAA Division 1 State Team Wrestling Tournament at Kaukauna High School on Feb. 20.

Hoyt Blaskowski, Gabe Pugh and Ryan Dolezal will be making return trips to the state meet after earning sectional titles for Marshfield.

The 2021 WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament will be Feb. 13 at Kaukauna High School.

Blaskowski won the 132-pound title with a pin of Kellan Aure of Menomonie in 2:46, Pugh took the 138-pound title with a 9-1 major decision over Gabriel Ramos of Wausau West, and Dolezal won the 152-pound championship match over Demitrio Covarrubius of D.C. Everest, 6-4.

Brett Franklin (145 pounds) and Garrett Willuweit (160) finished third, and Camren Dennee (170) took fourth for the Tigers.

2021 WIAA Division 1 Individual Wrestling Sectional

Feb. 6, at Wausau East High School

*Top two teams qualify for WIAA State Team Tournament, Feb. 20 at Kaukauna High School.

Team scores: *1. Marshfield 111; *2. Holmen 106; 3. Shawano 104; 4. D.C. Everest 100; 5. Hudson 90; 6. Wisconsin Rapids 74.5; 7. Bay Port 73.5; 8. Wausau West 69; 9. River Falls 68; 10. De Pere 52.5; 11. Ashwaubenon 48; 12. Sparta 42; 13. Menomonie 36.5; 14. La Crosse Logan/Central 33; 15. Pulaski 31; 16. Stevens Point 27; 17. Rhinelander 21.5; 18. Eau Claire Memorial 19; 19. Tomah 15; 20. Superior 14; 21. New Richmond 10; 22. Green Bay Preble and Merrill 6; 24. Onalaska/Luther and Wausau East 0.

*Top two finishers at each weight qualify for the WIAA State Individual Tournament, Feb. 13 at Kaukauna High School.

106 pounds

Championship: Travis Moelter (RF) def. Cole Fitzpatrick (LC), 8-2 SV-1.

Third place: Drake Helm (SH) won major dec. over Riley Konkol (SP), 12-0.

Fifth place: Ethan Eggert (PUL).

113 pounds

Championship: Easton Cooper (DC) pinned Damien Wudtke (SH), 1:19.

Third place: Connor Krueger (SUP) def. A.J. Henn (HUD), 5-1.

Fifth place: Owen Noel (BP) pinned Tanner Schmidt (RH), 4:57.

120 pounds

Championship: Shane Corrigan (DP) def. Preston Spray (WR), 4-2.

Third place: Sam Smith (HOL) pinned Tim Fox (RH), 1:39.

Fifth place: Christian Franchuk (ECM) def. Trentin Phillips (GBP) by technical fall, 17-2.

Second-place wrestleback: Spray (WR) def. Smith (HOL), 7-4.

126 pounds

Championship: Gabriel Galang (WW) pinned Wyatt Brandt (SH), 1:05.

Third place: Preston Kratochvill (HOL) pinned Collin Hansen (DP), 0:39.

Fifth place: Josh Black (WR) def. Hugh Wiese (RH), 10-7.

132 pounds

Championship: Hoyt Blaskowski (MAR) pinned Kellan Aure (MEN), 2:46.

Third place: Parker Kratochvill (HOL) won major dec. over Blake Heal (DC), 13-2.

Fifth place: Matthew Feia (HUD) pinned Benny Bemis (TOM), 2:27.

Second-place wrestleback: Kratochvill (HOL) def. Aure (MEN), 7-0.

138 pounds

Championship: Gage Pugh (MAR) won major dec. over Gabriel Ramos (WW), 9-1.

Third place: Tyler Jahn (HOL) def. Ryan Sering (WR), 3-2.

Fifth place: James Hampton (RF) def. Reef Anthony (SH), 5-1.

145 pounds

Championship: Jacob Ward (BP) def. Brett Franklin (MAR), 9-7.

Third place: Brett Back (WR) pinned Ethan Winkleman (HUD), 2:18.

Fifth place: Branson Beers (HOL) pinned Owen Larson (RF), 1:26.

Second-place wrestleback: Back (WR) won major dec. over Franklin (MAR), 16-7.

152 pounds

Championship: Ryan Dolezal (MAR) def. Demitrio Covarrubius (DC), 6-4.

Third place: Miles Longsdorf (RF) def. Tyler Dennis (NR), 5-1.

Fifth place: Tristan Taylor (PUL) def. Brennett Weidman (WR), 5-2.

160 pounds

Championship: Freddy Lehrke (DC) def. Peter Hansen (HUD), 8-3.

Third place: Garrett Willuweit (MAR) def. Tyler Haydon (RF), 3-1 SV-1.

Fifth place: Caden Young (SH) def. Conner Seavers (SP), 8-7.

170 pounds

Championship: Carter Vetsch (HOL) pinned Dylan Ellefson (LC), 1:33.

Third place: Jacob Hansen (HUD) def. Camren Dennee (MAR), 9-3.

Fifth place: Ethan Schermitzler (ECM) def. Trevor Nys (BP), injury default.

Second-place wrestleback: Hansen (HUD) def. Ellefson (LC), 8-2.

182 pounds

Championship: Connor Ramage (ASH) def. Michael Alexander (DP), 3-0.

Third place: Hank Gierke (HUD) def. Corbin Hauser (SPAR).

Fifth place: Vito Massa (RF) def. Brett Johnston (SP).

195 pounds

Championship: Drake Anderson (BP) pinned Gage Timm (SH), 1:42.

Third place: Nathan LaRue (WW) def. Peter Rucker (WR), disqualification.

Fifth place: Ben Steltzner (HUD) def. Wyatt Bathke (MER).

220 pounds

Championship: Nathan Moynihan (ASH) pinned Orion Boe (DC), 2:45.

Third place: Max Burdette (PUL) pinned Hayden Brueggeman (SPAR), 1:39.

Fifth place: Colton Geurink (WW) def. Ben Raczek (SP).

285 pounds

Championship: Girard Jones (MEN) def. Madden Connelly (SPAR), 2-1.

Third place: Nick Kohn (SH) pinned Vaughn Campbell (BP), 3:35.

Fifth place: Willie Bowie (TOM) won major dec. over Jack Johnson (DC), 11-5.

Second-place wrestleback: Kohn (SH) pinned Connelly (SPAR), 1:09.