top of page


The Marshfield wrestling team was eliminated from the WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament in Madison on Friday after losing to Holmen in the semifinals. (File photo)

Zaleski Sports

MADISON – The Marshfield wrestling team’s quest for its first state championship match berth fell short as the Tigers lost a Division 1 semifinal dual to Holmen 38-31 on Friday night at the 2022 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament at the University of Wisconsin Fieldhouse.

Marshfield, the No. 2 seed, dominated a quarterfinal match over Muskego 45-17 to reach the semifinals, where it saw its season end.

Marshfield was making its sixth appearance overall and fourth in the past five seasons at the state team tournament, and reached the semifinals for the fourth time, but hasn’t been able to get any further.

Holmen will face No. 1 seed and defending Division 1 champion Kaukauna in the championship match at 3 p.m. Saturday. Kaukauna is making its 10th-straight state tournament appearance and will look for its sixth title in that stretch. Holmen is at state for the ninth time in the past 13 years, but has never won a state title as it will make just its second championship match appearance.

Marshfield won the first eight matches in the dual against Muskego, with Hoyt Blaskowski (138 pounds), Brett Franklin (145) and Owen Griesbach (160) winning by pin.

Keagan Cliver (132), Ryan Dolezal (170) and Camren Dennee (182) added major decisions, and Garrett Willuweit (152) and Cody Weix (195) won by decision to give Marshfield a 36-0 lead.

Ava Gardner (106) won by decision and Caleb Dennee (120) had a first-period period to finish off the win for the Tigers.

In the semifinal against Holmen, the two teams exchanged victories as Franklin (138) won a 6-4 decision, and Willuweit (152) and Dolezal (170) won by technical fall to put Marshfield up 13-12 through six matches.

Camren Dennee (195) and Joey Carolfi (220) extended Marshfield’s lead with pins before Holmen ripped off three-straight wins, including two by pin and one by tech fall to go ahead 29-25.

Caleb Dennee (120) won by pin for the Tigers to give them a 31-29 lead with two matches left, but Holmen’s Andrew Weiss returned the favor with a pin at 126 setting up the final match, with Marshfield’s Keagan Cliver needing a tech fall or pin to give the Tigers the victory.

Holmen’s Preston Kratochvill prevailed in a tight match at 132 pounds, 5-3, to finish off the victory for the Vikings.

WIAA Team Wrestling Tournament

Division 1 Quarterfinal

Marshfield 45, Muskego 17

132: Keagan Cliver (MAR) won by major dec. over Mason Duerwachter, 12-3.

138: Hoyt Blaskowski (MAR) pinned C.J. Grzenia, 2:45.

145: Brett Franklin (MAR) pinned Cole Reid, 3:25.

152: Garrett Willuweit (MAR) def. Austin Elger, 9-3.

160: Owen Griesbach (MAR) pinned Ryker Morgan, 3:59.

170: Ryan Dolezal (MAR) won by major dec. over Matt Kinzel, 12-4.

182: Camren Dennee (MAR) won by major dec. over Adam Dzievit, 11-2.

195: Cody Weix (MAR) def. Dylan Cleveland, 9-5.

220: Dominic Schnier (MUS) def. James Clement, injury default.

285: Emmett Bock (MUS) def. Adrian Kruger, 5-2.

106: Ava Gardner (MAR) def. Thomas Mattsen, 5-0.

113: Cael Zelinski (MUS) pinned Jace Kelnhofer, 3:33.

120: Caleb Dennee (MAR) pinned Nathan Schanen, 1:07.

126: J.T. Brandstatter (MUS) def. Grayden Rode, 7-6.


Division 1 Semifinal

Holmen 38, Marshfield 31

138: Brett Franklin (MAR) def. Tyler Jahn, 6-4.

145: Parker Kratochvill (HOL) def. Hoyt Blaskowski, 8-2.

152: Garrett Willuweit (MAR) won by technical fall over Branson Beers, 16-0.

160: Benson Swateck (HOL) pinned Owen Griesbach, 3:31.

170: Ryan Dolezal (MAR) won by technical fall over Kyle Gerold, 26-10.

182: Dylan Liethen (HOL) def. Cody Weix, 4-3.

195: Camren Dennee (MAR) pinned Griffin Banks, 4:00.

220: Joey Carolfi (MAR) pinned Carson Westcott, 3:48.

285: Ron White (HOL) pinned Adrian Kruger, 1:03.

106: Camden Thiele (HOL) won by technical fall over Ava Gardner, 19-0.

113: Turner Campbell (HOL) pinned Jace Kelnhofer, 0:38.

120: Caleb Dennee (MAR) pinned Dom Ammerman, 3:17.

126: Andrew Weiss (HOL) pinned Grayden Rode, 1:47.

132: Preston Kratochvill (HOL) def. Keagan Cliver, 5-3.


2022 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament

March 4-5, at University of Wisconsin Fieldhouse, Madison

Friday, March 4

Division 1 Quarterfinals

No. 1 Kaukauna (11-0) 51, No. 8 Franklin (20-6) 14

No. 4 Stoughton (16-7) 53, No. 5 Glendale Nicolet (11-1) 24

No. 3 Holmen (18-5) 42, No. 6 Hartland Arrowhead (6-2) 35

No. 2 Marshfield (21-6) 45, No. 7 Muskego (12-2) 17

Division 1 semifinals

No. 1 Kaukauna (12-0) 39, No. 4 Stoughton (16-8) 35

No. 3 Holmen (19-5) 38, No. 2 Marshfield (21-7) 31