google-site-verification=ps-O59qvSC7A58hGVIbvaZZ8LwmWDbiimRjKUU99UCU
  • paul63985

GIRLS BASKETBALL PREVIEW: THREE STARTERS RETURN FOR MARSHFIELD


Kaydee Johnson is one of three honorable mention all-Wisconsin Valley Conference players returning for the Marshfield girls basketball team this season. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker For Zaleski Sports


MARSHFIELD – Former Marshfield High School standout Taylor Varsho returns for her second season leading the Tigers girls basketball program following a season of ups and downs.


Marshfield finished 10-15 in Varsho’s first season as head coach and returns three starters this year, all of which earned honorable all-Wisconsin Valley Conference accolades.


Junior guard Maddie Michaelis (10.4 points per game), and seniors Kaydee Johnson (10.7 ppg) and Paige Preston (5.3 ppg) return to the lineup for the Tigers, who dropped their season opener to Medford last week.


Senior Desirae Weisenberger (4.5 ppg) is also back and will be joined this year by juniors Quincy Lang and Brianna Varsho, sophomores Madison Voss and Loryn Jakobi, and freshman Danielle Minsaas.

Gone is unanimous first-team all-conference player Jenna Jakobi (16.1 points), who led the WVC in field goal percentage and shot 78 percent at the free throw line, some numbers this year’s team will have to collectively work to replace.


“Our success this year will depend on rebounding and controlling turnovers,” Taylor Varsho said. “We have to control possessions. I would like to play quicker and push the ball up the floor. Additionally, we are going to be undersized for the most part in teams we play, but if we play quick, rebound, and control turnovers we can be a tough team.”


Marshfield will play at Lakeland in a nonconference game Tuesday, then will have two weeks off before beginning Wisconsin Valley Conference play with a game at defending champion Stevens Point on Dec. 10 and a home game against Wisconsin Rapids on Dec. 13.


“My expectations for this season is to create young ladies that are prepared for their life after high school sports,” Varsho said. “To teach them life skills that they will be able to use for their future. Additionally, teach them basketball skills and compete at a high level. Also, have fun and create lifelong friendships throughout this journey.”


Marshfield Girls Basketball Schedule Thur., Nov. 21 MEDFORD, 7:15 p.m. Tue., Nov. 26 at Lakeland, 6 p.m. Tue., Dec. 10 at Stevens Point, 7:15 p.m. Fri., Dec. 13 WISCONSIN RAPIDS, 6 p.m. Fri., Dec. 20 at Merrill, 7:15 p.m. Fri., Dec. 27 HUDSON, 7:30 p.m. Sat., Dec. 28 OSHKOSH NORTH, 3:15 p.m. Fri., Jan. 3 D.C. EVEREST, 7:15 p.m. Tue., Jan. 7 CHIPPEWA FALLS, 7:15 p.m. Fri., Jan. 10 at Wausau East, 7:15 p.m. Mon., Jan. 13 at Wausau West, 7:15 p.m. Fri., Jan. 17 at Rhinelander, 7:15 p.m. Sat., Jan. 18 EAU CLAIRE MEMORIAL, 5 p.m. Tue., Jan. 21 OSHKOSH WEST, 7:30 p.m. Fri., Jan. 24 STEVENS POINT, 6 p.m. Tue., Jan. 28 at Wisconsin Rapids, 7:45 p.m. Fri., Jan. 31 MERRILL, 7:15 p.m. Tue., Feb. 4 EAU CLAIRE NORTH, 7:15 p.m. Thur., Feb. 6 at D.C. Everest, 7:15 p.m. Tue., Feb. 11 WAUSAU EAST, 7:15 p.m. Fri., Feb. 14 WAUSAU WEST, 7:15 p.m. Tue., Feb. 18 at Menomonie, 7:15 p.m. Fri., Feb. 28 WIAA Div. 1 regional semifinal, 7 p.m. Home games in CAPS, at Marshfield High School

© 2023 by TheHours. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter