top of page


Columbus Catholic junior Kellen Delaney was a first-team selection to the 2019 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Soccer Team after leading the Dons with 31 goals this past season. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker For Zaleski Sports

Champion Marshfield Columbus Catholic had three first-team selections and eight players overall on the 2019 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Soccer Team, which was selected by the eight conference coaches following the season.

Junior forward Kellen Delaney, senior midfielder Zach Olson, and senior sweeper Tom Nystrom were first-team selections for Columbus Catholic, which finished 12-0-1 in the CWC this season as it won its third-straight championship.

Delaney led the Dons in scoring with 31 goals and 13 assists, and Olson was third on the team with 12 goals and tied Delaney for the team-lead with 13 assists. Nystrom had seven assists and 11 goals, finishing fourth on team in both catagories.

Junior midfielder Jadon Nienast and senior defenders Addison Baierl and Annika Brown were second-team picks, and senior forward Dylan Porter and sophomore defender John Garneau earned honorable mention accolades for Columbus Catholic.

Northland Lutheran senior forward Austin Hafermann was named Player of the Year, and Columbus Catholic’s Jeff Edwards was chosen as Coach of the Year in the CWC.

2019 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Soccer Team First Team Forwards: Kellen Delaney, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Mason Schlagenhaft, sr., Stevens Point Pacelli; Austin Hafermann, sr., Northland Lutheran. Midfielders: Zach Olson, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Sam Basala, jr., Stevens Point Pacelli; Charlie Kulick, jr., Stevens Point Pacelli; Zach Fehrman, Bowler/Gresham; Flynn Peterson, jr., Amherst. Sweeper: Tom Nystrom, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic. Goalkeeper: Mason Czech, sr., Amherst. Second Team Forward: Lydon Wright, jr., Amherst. Midfielders: Jadon Nienast, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Tim Tippel, sr., Stevens Point Pacelli; Quinn Reeves, jr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Sam Russ, sr., Northland Lutheran; Auggie Gavinski, sr., Northland Lutheran; Ethan Winkelman, jr., Amherst. Defenders: Addison Baierl, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Annika Brown, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Josh Hoffman, jr., Bowler/Gresham. Honorable Mention Forwards: Dylan Porter, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Devin Pahl, jr., Northland Lutheran; Spencer Luebbe, so., Wisconsin Valley Lutheran. Midfielders: Sergio Salderson, jr., Tri-County; Adin Brei, Bowler/Gresham; Drew Lewallen, fr., Amherst. Defenders: John Garneau, so., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Peyton Heinz, so., Wausau Newman Catholic; Brenden Rohland, sr., Northland Lutheran; Trent Eberhardy, sr., Northland Lutheran; Carlos Martinez, Bowler/Gresham; Josh Gustafson, so., Wisconsin Valley Lutheran; Daniel Spoelstra, jr., Amherst; Bryce Wendlandt, jr., Amherst. Goalkeepers: Sam LaMotte, jr., Stevens Point Pacelli; Jose Martines, sr., Tri-County; Gabe Gavinski, sr., Northland Lutheran; Dawson Young, jr., Wisconisn Valley Lutheran. Player of the Year: Austin Hafermann, sr., Northland Lutheran. Coach of the Year: Jeff Edwards, Marshfield Columbus Catholic.

15 views0 comments