top of page


Zaleski Sports

AUBURNDALE – The Auburndale wrestling team will be sending six athletes on to sectionals after finishing third at the WIAA Division 3 wrestling regional on Saturday at home at Auburndale High School.

Amherst won the team title with 229 points, which was 30 more than Weyauwega-Fremont. Auburndale was third with 135 points and Pittsville fourth with 126.

Amherst moves on to the Division 3 team sectional on Tuesday at its home gym. Brillion, Coleman and Manawa also earned spots. The winner of the dual-meet format will move on to the WIAA Team State Wrestling Tournament in Madison on March 7.

Auburndale senior Dylan Baird (29-9) was the lone regional champion for the Apaches. He won the 138-pound title by beating Landon Moe of Amherst with a pin in 1:27.

Five Auburndale wrestlers finished second and will also move on to the individual sectional next Saturday, Feb. 22, at Shawano High School. The top two finishers at the regional qualify for sectionals, with the top three in each weight class at the sectional moving on to the 2020 WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament at the Kohl Center in Madison on Feb. 27-29.

Second-place finishers for Auburndale were: Noah Altmann (29-8 at 120 pounds), Hunter Godard (19-16 at 126), Cody Poeschel (7-17 at 160), Sloan Welch (24-9 at 170), and Brice Thiel (20-16 at 195).

Pittsville had three wrestlers earn spots in the sectional final. Camron Dammann (23-6) won the 132-pound title and Evan Dammann (23-10) placed first at 145. Peter Esser (23-12) also moves on after taking second at 106.

2020 WIAA Division 3 Wrestling Regional Feb. 15, at Auburndale High School Team scores: 1. Amherst 229; 2. Weyauwega-Fremont 199; 3. Auburndale 135; 4. Pittsville 126; 5. Rosholt 125; 6. Almond-Bancroft/Pacelli 86; 7. Tri-County 37. Top two finishers move on to individual sectional Feb. 22 at Shawano 106 pounds Championship: Talon Armatoski (AM) pinned Peter Esser (PIT), 3:23. Third place: Isiah Schuh (WF) def. Blake Peskie (ROS) by medical forfeit. Second-place wrestleback: Esser pinned Schuh in 0:13. 113 pounds Championship: Brandon Hall (ABP) pinned Bryce Bunting (AM), 0:26. Third place: Clayton Fee (WF) pinned Dryden Luther (PIT), 5:31. 120 pounds Championship: Carter Greening (WF) pinned Noah Altmann (AUB), 1:26. Third place: Drew Lewallen (AM) pinned Adolf Castillo (ABP), 1:01. 126 pounds Championship: Bo Niewiadomski (ROS) pinned Hunter Godard (AUB), 2:41. Third place: Flynn Peterson (AM) pinned Easton Dammann (PIT), 1:11. Second-place wrestleback: Godard pinned Peterson, 1:49. 132 pounds Championship: Camron Dammann (PIT) def. Ryan Applebee (TC), 5-4. Third place: Colton Cahill (AM) pinned William Cunningham (ROS), 0:18. Second-place wrestleback: Applebee pinned Cahill, 0:46. 138 pounds Championship: Dylan Baird (AUB) pinned Landon Moe (AM), 1:27. Third place: Devin Kuenzi (WF) pinned Hunter McDaniel (PIT), 1:27. 145 pounds Championship: Evan Dammann (PIT) def. Bryce Wendlandt (AM), 5-2. Third place: Mason Marquette (WF) pinned Brent Lau (AUB), 3:08. 152 pounds Championship: Mason Haas (AM) pinned Blade Niewiadomski (ROS), 3:47. Third place: Ariel Castillo (ABP) pinned Caden Meisenhelder (WF), 3:21. Second-place wrestleback: Biewiadomski pinned Castillo, 0:25. 160 pounds Championship: Max Meyerhofer (WF) pinned Cody Poeschel (AUB), 1:14. Third place: Avery Myers (PIT) pinned Connor Newby (ABP), 0:36. 170 pounds Championship: Adam Charnecke (ROS) def. Sloan Welch (AUB), 8-4. Third place: Tristan Schelvan (AM) pinned Ethan Lamoureux (WF), 1:48. 182 pounds Championship: Reese Anderson (ROS) pinned Ben Strehlow (WF), 5:23. Third place: Noah Ostowski (AM) pinned Nate Severin (TC), 1:15. 195 pounds Championship: Brock Sanger (WF) pinned Brice Thiel (AUB), 1:34. Third place: Jake Hoffman (AM) pinned Jon Klamrowski (PIT), 3:50. 220 pounds Championship: Skylor Maynard (WF) def. Colton Jakubek (AM), 0:57. 285 pounds Championship: John Farkas (AM) pinned Derek Lockhart (ABP), 1:26. Third place: Wyatt Landphier (PIT).

14 views0 comments