top of page


The Athens boys basketball team was voted the & Zaleski Sports March High School Athletes of the Month. (Submitted photo)

Zaleski Sports

The Athens boys basketball team has been voted as the & Zaleski Sports March High School Athletes of the Month.

The High School Athlete of the Month Award main sponsor for the 2021-22 school year is Awards ‘n’ More of Wisconsin Rapids. The monthly award will continue through June 2022, and the winner of the & Zaleski Sports High School Athlete of the Year will be announced in July.

Varsity athletes from the following high schools are eligible to be nominated for the award: Abbotsford, Amherst, Athens, Assumption, Auburndale, Colby, Columbus Catholic, Edgar, Granton, Greenwood, Iola-Scandinavia, Loyal, Marshfield, Mosinee, Neillsville, Newman Catholic, Pacelli, Pittsville, Port Edwards, Rosholt, Spencer, Stratford, Stevens Point, Wild Rose and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln.

The Athens boys basketball team racked up 387 of the nearly 1,200 votes cast during voting from April 6-13 at

Other nominees for the March award were all teams that reached sectional finals or state tournaments during the recently-concluded winter sports season: the Wisconsin Rapids Assumption and Neillsville girls basketball teams, the Marshfield Columbus Catholic and Iola-Scandinavia boys basketball teams, and the Marshfield wrestling team.

Athens came within three points on a berth in the WIAA state tournament as it fell to Hurley 41-38 in a tight Division 5 sectional final on March 12. The Bluejays, champions of the Marawood Conference North Division, won its first three playoff games by double digits and defeated Turtle Lake 34-31 in a hard-fought sectional semifinal to reach the D-5 sectional final. Athens finished the season with a 22-7 record.

Nominate someone now for the April award by emailing editor Paul Lecker at, and check back to vote on May 2-9 for the April High School Athlete of the Month.

Other winners of the award thus far in the 2021-22 school year are: Mosinee soccer player Toren Holtz (August), Stevens Point football player Riley Warzynski (September), Mosinee football player Keagen Jirschele (October), Stevens Point Pacelli girls basketball player Amelia Jacoby (November), Spencer/Columbus wrestler Treyton Ackman (December), Iola-Scandinavia boys basketball player Parker Prahl (January), and Wisconsin Rapids Assumption girls basketball player Ainara Sainz de Rozas (February).

176 views0 comments