top of page


Athens' Jazelle Hartwig was one of two Bluejays named to the first team of the 2021-22 All-Marawood Conference North Division Girls Basketball Team. (Paul Lecker file photo)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Athens earned two unanimous first-team selections and five spots in all on the 2021-22 All-Marawood Conference North Division Girls Basketball Team, as voted on by the conference coaches following the season.

Sophomores Addison Lavicka and Jazelle Hartwig were two of the five first-team selections after leading Athens to a 12-4 record and a second-place finish in the Marawood North.

Lavicka averaged 14.2 points and 6.2 rebounds per game, while Hartwig averaged 12.5 points and 6.1 rebounds per game for the Bluejays, who finished 22-5 overall and reached the WIAA Division 5 regional final.

Joining them on the first team were Abbotsford sophomore Sydney Falteisek, and sophomore Kacy Eggebrecht and senior Jada Eggebrecht of Phillips. Jada Eggebrecht, who averaged 23.4 points and 5.3 assists per game, was named Player of the Year for the third-straight season and was a first-team pick for the fourth time.

Falteisek led Abbotsford in scoring and rebounding at 12.2 points and 6.7 boards per contest this season.

Athens sophomore Sophia Coker was a second-team selection, and teammates McKenzie Schug and Elizabeth Van Rixel were honorable mention picks.

Alea Graff and Sommer Brodhagen were honorable mention selections for Abbotsford.

2021-22 All-Marawood Conference North Division Girls Basketball Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First team: *Sydney Falteisek, so., Abbotsford; *Addison Lavicka, so., Athens; Jazelle Hartwig, so., Athens; *Jada Eggebrecht, sr., Phillips; *Kacy Eggebrecht, so., Phillips.

Second team: Sophia Coker, so., Athens; Jensen Weik, sr., Phillips; Mallory Burcaw, jr., Prentice; Kali Heikkinen, fr., Prentice; Danielle Mann, so., Rib Lake.

Honorable mention: Alea Graff, sr., Abbotsford; Sommer Brodhagen, so., Abbotsford; McKenzie Schug, sr., Athens; Elizabeth Van Rixel, sr., Athens; Lexi Harris, jr., Chequamegon; Kramah Shomila, jr., Chequamegon; Kendall Weik, jr., Phillips; Elsa Schulter, jr., Phillips; Leah Thums, sr., Prentice; Lauren Pelnis, sr., Rib Lake; Molly Heiser, sr., Rib Lake.

All-Defensive Team: Sommer Brodhagen, so., Abbotsford; Jazelle Hartwig, so., Athens; Alayna Rybak, so., Chequamegon; Kacy Eggebrecht, so., Phillips; Mallory Burcaw, jr., Prentice; Kamy Annala, jr., Rib Lake.

Coach of the Year: Mike Eggebrecht, Phillips

Player of the Year: Jada Eggebecht, Phillips.

227 views0 comments