top of page


Updated: Jun 18, 2022

Ava Schill Bats In 2022 WIAA D5 State Championship Game (photo: Robyn Austin)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Wisconsin Rapids Assumption junior pitcher Ava Schill was named the Division 5 State Player of the Year and was one of 11 area players to earn honors on the Wisconsin Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association all-state teams that were announced on Wednesday.

Schill and Iola-Scandinavia junior Jaelyn Sivertson were first-team selections, Assumption junior Cristin Casey and Edgar sophomore Makayla Wirkus were second-team picks, and Athens sophomore Addison Lavicka and Wild Rose junior Laney Havlovitz were honorable mention choices on the Small Schools (Division 4 and 5) all-state team.

Stevens Point freshman Kaitlyn Klismith and senior Maddy Miklesh were first-team choices, and Marshfield senior Courtney Donahue and Wisconsin Rapids senior Megan Clary were picked to the second team of the Large Schools (Division 1) team.

Amherst junior Haley Peskie was selected to the second team of the Medium Schools (Divisions 2 and 3) all-state squad.

Schill, the Marawood Conference South Division Player of the Year, finished the season with a 15-0 record and two saves, striking out 147 with a 1.36 ERA. She also hit .466 with nine doubles, two triples, three home runs and 26 RBI for Assumption, which won the WIAA Division 5 state championship.

Sivertson, a shortstop, batted .482 with seven doubles, three triples, 20 RBI and 40 runs scored for Iola-Scandinavia, which finished second in the Central Wisconsin Conference East Division.

Klismith hit .490 and Miklesh batted .437 for Stevens Point this season, earning first-team all-Wisconsin Valley Conference honors. Klismith knocked in 24 runs with a team-high 38 runs scored, and Mikelsh finished with a team-best 39 RBI and six home runs for the Panthers.

166 views0 comments