top of page


Marshfield’s Anthony Posteluk was one of four seniors for the Tigers to earn recognition on the 2019-20 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Basketball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker For Zaleski Sports

Merrill senior Michael Casper was one of four unanimous first-team picks and was named Player of the Year on the 2019-20 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Basketball Team, which was voted on by the seven conference coaches following the end of the regular season.

Casper finished third in the conference in scoring at 20.3 points per game, was second in assists with 46, led the Valley with 27 made 3-pointers, and tied for ninth in rebounding at 4.8 per contest this season for the Bluejays.

Wausau East senior Gabe Krueger, Wisconsin Rapids junior Grant Flory, and D.C. Everest senior Alec Stuedemann were also unanimous first-team picks. Stevens Point senior Evan Vollendorf was the other first-team selection.

Flory led the conference in scoring at 27.1 points per game and was second in rebounding at 10.0 per game, while shooting 55.4 percent from the field.

Krueger led the WVC in rebounding at 10.3 per game, was second in scoring at 25 points per game, and led the conference in field goal percentage at 65.6 percent (118 of 180).

Stuedemann was fifth in scoring (17.2 ppg) and sixth in rebounding (5.7 rpg), and tied for third in 3-point percentage at 42.9 percent (24 of 56), helping D.C. Everest to the conference title.

Vollendorf, despite missing four games, finished fourth in scoring at 17.5 points per game, tied for fourth in 3-point percentage at 42.9 percent (12 of 28) and tied for third in rebounding at 7.3 per contest.

Marshfield seniors Anthony Posteluk and Joey Goettl were second-team selections, and Sam Hinson and Addison Hill earned honorable mention recognition as the Tigers finished second in the WVC standings at 9-3 (15-9 overall).

Posteluk was sixth in the league in scoring at 15.8 points per game and tied for second with 24 3-pointers made. He shot 83.9 percent from the free throw line, which was fifth in the conference and was Marshfield’s top rebounder at 4.3 per contest.

Goettl scored 12.6 points per game, Hill was seventh in the conference in assists with 38 and seventh in 3-point percentage at 41.3 percent (19 of 46), and Hinson finished 11th in free throw shooting at 78.6 percent (22 of 28).

D.C. Everest’s Jerry Pagel was named Coach of the Year.

2019-20 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Basketball Team (*denotes unanimous selection) First team: *Michael Casper, sr., Merrill; *Gabe Krueger, sr., Wausau East; *Grant Flory, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; *Alec Stuedemann, sr., D.C. Everest; Evan Vollendorf, sr., Stevens Point. Second team: Anthony Posteluk, sr., Marshfield; Bryan Halambeck, sr., D.C Everest; Joey Goettl, sr., Marshfield; Nate Streveler, so., Stevens Point; Nathan Woller, jr., Merrill. Honorable mention: Ethan Ostrowski, sr., D.C. Everest; Colton Hall, so., D.C. Everest; Addison Hill, sr., Marshfield; Sam Hinson, sr., Marshfield; Piersen Pyan, sr., Merrill; James Jacobs, so., Stevens Point; Ben Cayley, sr., Wausau East; Max Helke, jr., Wausau West; Amillion Buggs, so., Wausau West; Dylan Lisitza, jr., Wisconsin Rapids. Player of the Year: Michael Casper, Merrill. Coach of the Year: Jerry Pagel, D.C. Everest.

13 views0 comments