top of page


Columbus Catholic senior Addison Baierl was a first-team selection to the 2019-20 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker For Zaleski Sports

Loyal senior guard Remi Geiger was named Player of the Year and is one of the six members selected to the 2019-20 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team, which was voted on by the nine conference coaches following the regular season.

Geiger averaged 18.2 points per game and made a conference-high 60 3-pointers this season for the Greyhounds, who finished second in the final standings.

Remi Geiger

Joining Geiger on the first team were Colby senior Hailey Voelker, Marshfield Columbus Catholic senior Addison Baierl, Gilman senior Grace Grunseth, and junior Bella Opelt and senior Alli Schoengarth of conference champion Neillsville.

Baierl, who had her season cut short with an injury in February, led the Cloverbelt East in scoring at 18.7 pooints per game and made 26 3-pointers while shooting 49 percent from the floor.

Bella Opelt

Voelker was third in the conference in scoring at 17.1 points per game and rebounding at 8.5 per game, and Opelt was fifth at 14.8 points per game.

Grunseth averaged 13.8 points per contest, and Alli Schoengarth averaged 10.9 points per game for Neillsville.

Voelker and Geiger were repeat first-team selections, and Baierl, Grunseth, and Opelt were second-team picks last year. Schoengarth was an honorable mention choice in 2019.

Spencer sophomore Heavyn Kind was among the six second-team selections after averaging 15 points per game for the Rockets.

Also picked to the second team were Colby junior Emma Peavey, Gilman senior Emma Warner, Greenwood senior Amanda Bogdonovich, Loyal junior Savannah Schley, and Owen-Withee senior Brianna Simington. Warner and Simington were second-team selections last year as well.

2019-20 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team First team: Hailey Voelker, sr., Colby; Addison Baierl, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Remi Geiger, sr., Loyal; Grace Grunseth, sr., Gilman; Bella Opelt, jr., Neillsville; Alli Schoengarth, sr., Neillsville. Second team: Emma Peavey, jr., Colby; Emma Warner, sr., Gilman; Amanda Bogdonovich, sr., Greenwood; Savannah Schley, jr., Loyal; Brianna Simington, sr., Owen-Withee; Heavyn Kind, so., Spencer. Honorable mention: Lexi Krebsbach, sr., Colby; Annika Brown, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Katlyn Lindner, jr., Loyal; Bailey Bravener, sr., Loyal; Emma Moseley, so., Neillsville; Hailey Geldernick, jr., Owen-Withee. Player of the Year: Remi Geiger, Loyal.

19 views0 comments