top of page


Zaleski Sports

AUBURNDALE – Freshman Sloan Welch won the 182-pound title and Auburndale had two runner-up finishes as it finished eighth at its home Auburndale Wrestling Invitational on Saturday at Auburndale High School.

La Crosse Logan/Central won the team title with 230.5 pounds, with Chequamegon second (221), Abbotsford/Colby third (208) and Auburndale eighth (125).

Welch improved to 12-1 after pinned Andrew Jeske of Abbotsford/Colby in 2:47 to take the 182-pound championship match.

Noah Altmann (9-4) lost the 120-pound final to Colten Klemm of Manawa, 10-2, and Dylan Baird (10-3) was runner-up at 138 pounds after losing 10-8 to Jeff Thoreson of St. Charles (Minn.) in the championship match for the Apaches.

Abbotsford/Colby won a pair of individual titles. River Halopka (9-2) pinned Carter Mathison of St. Charles in 3:27 to win the 126-pound final, and Brandon Vicente (9-2) topped Colin Moser of Manawa 10-5 to take the 170-pound title.

Auburndale will compete at the Bi-State Classic in La Crosse on Dec. 27-28.

Auburndale Wrestling Invitational Dec. 21, at Auburndale High School Team scores: 1. La Crosse Logan/Central 230.5; 2. Chequamegon 221; 3. Abbotsford/Colby 208; 4. Royall 180; 5. Manawa 179; 6. Eau Claire North 149.5; 7. Black River Falls 129; 8. Auburndale 125; 9. Crandon 107; 10. St. Charles (Minn.) 100; 11. Necedah 90; 12. Cornell/Gilman 63; 13. Tri-County 43.5; 14. Thorp 30. Championship matches and Auburndale results 106 pounds Championship: Cole Fitzpatrick (LC) def. Carson Duerkop (ECN), 6-0. 113 pounds Championship: Kevin Klemm (MAN) def. Nolan McKittrick (ROY), 12-8. 120 pounds Championship: Colten Klemm (MAN) won major dec. over Noah Altmann (AUB), 10-2. 126 pounds Championship: River Halopka (AC) pinned Carter Mathison (STC), 3:27. Third place: Brett Palubicki (CRA) pinned Hunter Goddard (AUB), 4:00. 132 pounds Championship: Jackson McCormick (BRF) pinned Braeden Person (CG), 4:34. 138 pounds Championship: Jett Thoreson (STC) def. Dylan Baird (AUB), 10-8. 145 pounds Championship: Dylan Ellefson (LC) def. Bryan Griffin (MAN), 2-1. Fifth place: Brent Lau (AUB) pinned Harley Leverenz (ROY), 1:12. 152 pounds Championship: Ethan Johnson (ECN) pinned Dominic Schmidt (CHQ), 2:59. 160 pounds Championship: Michael Kirch (CHQ) pinned Breed Shepard, Jr. (CRA), 4:59. 170 pounds Championship: Brandon Vicente (AC) def. Colin Moser (MAN), 10-5. 182 pounds Championship: Sloan Welch (AUB) pinned Andrew Jeske (AC), 2:47. 195 pounds Championship: Carter Grewe (AC) pinned Luke Wohlrab (ROY), 2:33. Third place: Max Brenner (CHQ) pinned Brice Thiel (AUB), 1:18. 220 pounds Championship: Andrew Elmhorst (MAN) pinned Devin Thums (AC), 2:40. 285 pounds Championship: Parker Renken (CHQ) pinned Dean Nash (ECN), 3:47.

3 views0 comments