top of page


Iola-Scandinavia senior Parker Prahl was a first-team selection on the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Division 4 all-state team. (Photo courtesy of Iola-Scandinavia High School)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Iola-Scandinavia senior Parker Prahl and Wausau Newman Catholic junior Mason Prey were first-team selections, while 11 others from the area were honorable mention choices on the five divisional Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association all-state teams.

D.C. Everest’s Marcus Hall, Marshfield’s Chase Hinson and Stevens Point’s Nate Streveler (Division 1), Mosinee’s Davin Stoffel and Merrill’s Bailey Turenee (Division 2), Stratford’s Cam Daul, Marathon’s Jaden Koeller and Neillsville’s Andrew Brown (Division 4), and Athens’ Cooper Diedrich, Almond-Bancroft’s Ayden Phillips, and Marshfield Columbus Catholic’s Sam Wilczek (Division 5) all earned honorable mention accolades.

Wausau Newman Catholic junior Mason Prey was a first-team selection to the WBCA Division 5 all-state boys basketball team. (Paul Lecker file photo)

Prahl averaged 19.1 points and 12.3 rebounds per game as he led Iola-Scandinavia (27-1) to an undefeated Central Wisconsin Conference East Division title and a berth in the Division 4 sectional final. He also led the Thunderbirds in assists (103), steals (68), and 3-pointers made (38).

Prey, the Marawood Conference South Division Player of the Year, led the conference in scoring at 23.4 points per game as the Cardinals finished 20-8 and reached the Division 5 sectional semifinals. Prey shot 55.5 percent from the field and 78.5 percent from the free throw line, with 57 made 3-pointers, while also lead the team in steals (50) and assists (99), and averaged 6.2 rebounds per contest.

Hall, the Wisconsin Valley Conference Player of the Year, led the conference in scoring at 28.7 points per game, which ranked fifth in the state. He shot 58 percent from the field, 84 percent at the free throw line, and 49 percent from 3-point range making 56 of 114 attempts. He also averaged 8.8 rebounds per game for the Evergreens.

Hinson led Marshfield in scoring at 13.5 points per game with a team-high 69 made 3-pointers and a 88.5 free throw percentage (46-for-52) as the Tigers won the Wisconsin Valley Conference championship. He was a first-team all-WVC selection.

Streveler, a first-team all-WVC selection, averaged 17.8 points and 6.8 rebounds per game for Stevens Point, with a team-high 37 made 3-pointers.

Stoffel was a first-team all-Great Northern Conference selection for Mosinee, which won the conference title and finished 22-3 overall. Stoffel averaged at team-high 17.7 points and 10 rebounds per game, while shooting 55.8 percent from the field.

Turenne averaged 22.8 points, 12.2 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 2.7 steals per game for Merrill, with a team-best 49 3-pointers.

Daul led Stratford in scoring at 16.8 points and rebounding at 6.3 boards per game as the Tigers won a Division 4 regional title. The first-team all-Marawood Conference South Division selection shot 58 percent from the field and had a team-high 34 3-pointers.

Koeller, a first-team all-Marawood South pick, led Marathon to a conference title averaging 17.2 points per game with 80 3-pointers. He shot 93.9 percent at the free throw line, making 62 of 66 attempts.