top of page


The Stratford wrestling team won the title at the Fred Lehrke Invitational on Saturday at D.C. Everest High School. (Submitted photo)

Zaleski Sports

SCHOFIELD – Stratford had four individual champions and eight overall in the top three as it won the team title at the 64th Annual Fred Lehrke Wrestling Invitational on Saturday at D.C. Everest Invitational.

Stratford racked up 315 points to win the title. D.C. Everest was second with 297, Auburndale seventh with 121, and Spencer/Columbus Catholic ninth with 108 among the 10 teams at the tournament.

Gavin Drexler (126 pounds), Max Schwabe (138), Devin Dennee (160) and Trevor Dennee (182) won individual titles for the Tigers.

Drexler improves to 29-0, Schwabe and Trevor Dennee are now 29-1, and Devin Dennee is 29-2 this season.

Treyton Ackman won the title at 120 pounds for Spencer/Columbus. Ackman (27-2) pinned Tyson Bogacz of Bonduel in 5:12 in the championship match.

Ashton Ackman (24-2) finished second at 113 for the Rockets, losing in the finals to Gavin Finch of Tomah, 8-2.

Auburndale’s had five wrestlers earn top-five finishes. Noah Altmann (120) and Dylan Baird (138) both finished third, Hunter Godard (126) took fourth, and Sloan Welch (182) and Brice Thiel (195) took fifth.

Gavin Kirsch (145) and Hunter Ford (170) each finished second, Logan Gaulke (113) and Raife Smart (195) both took third, and Cole Marten (285) was fifth for Stratford.

64th Annual Fred Lehrke Wrestling Invitational Jan. 11, at D.C. Everest High School Team scores: 1. Stratford 315; 2. D.C. Everest 297; 3. Denmark 289; 4. Medford 242; 5. Bonduel 204; 6. Tomah 199; 7. Auburndale 121; 8. Rosholt 112; 9. Spencer/Columbus Catholic 108; 10. Mosinee 81. 106 pounds Round robin: 1. Ty Sova (MED) 3-0; 2. Alex Bergelin (DEN) 2-1; 3. Gavin Peterson (DC) 1-2; 4. Riley Smith (SCC) 0-3. 113 pounds Championship: Gavin Finch (TOM) def. Ashton Ackman (SCC), 8-2. Third place: Logan Gaulke (ST) def. Kade Kmosena (MOS), 2-0. 120 pounds Championship: Treyton Ackman (SCC) pinned Tyson Bogacz (BON), 5:12. Third place: Noah Altmann (AUB) won major dec. over Logan Johnson (MOS), 13-1. Seventh place: Caleb Pollack (TOM) pinned Benno Wenzel (ST), 0:47. 126 pounds Championship: Gavin Drexler (ST) pinned Cole Tenor (DEN), 1:11. Third place: Eric Rehbein (MED) pinned Hunter Godard (AUB), 5:08. 132 pounds Round robin: 1. Chase Kmosena (MOS) 5-0; 2. Jayson Toellner (BON) 4-1; 6. Ashtyn Kuehn (ST) 0-5. 138 pounds Championship: Max Schwabe (ST) def. Dane Higgins (MED), 1-0. Third place: Dylan Baird (AUB) def. Max Sokolski (BON), 13-7. 145 pounds Round robin: 1. Zeke Sigmund (MED) 5-0; 2. Gavin Kirsch (ST) 4-1; 4. Brent Lau (AUB) 1-4. 152 pounds Championship: Freddy Lehrke (DC) def. Emett Grunwald (MED), 3-1. Fifth place: Jacob Heiden (ST) pinned Thai Davis (TOM), 1:30. Seventh place: Parker Perry (BON) pinned Carson Kilty (SCC), 1:19. 160 pounds Championship: Devin Dennee (ST) def. Reece Piontek (DEN), 5-2. 170 pounds Championship: Gabe Carter (DC) pinned Hunter Ford (ST), 1:09. 182 pounds Championship: Trevor Dennee (ST) pinned Reese Anderson (ROS), 1:23. Fifth place: Sloan Welch (AUB) def. Nick Klug (DC), 9-6. 195 pounds Championship: Gabe Wertel (DEN) pinned Isaac Banker (BON), 1:52. Third place: Raife Smart (ST) won major dec. over Mitchell Danielski (DC), 12-2. Fifth place: Brice Thiel (AUB) def. Dalton Krug (MED), 9-5. Seventh place: Connor Perry (TOM) pinned Connor Luedtke (SCC), 0:47. 220 pounds Championship: Orion Boe (DC) pinned Luke Abrahamson (DEN), 1:47. Fifth place: Sawyer Kilty (SCC) pinned Cole Hanson (SCC), 0:52. 285 pounds Championship: Jack Johnson (DC) def. Hayden Larson (TOM), 5-4. Fifth place: Cole Marten (ST) def. Gus Johnson (DC), 6-3. Seventh place: Austin Grubofski (SCC) pinned Jayson Calaway (BON), 0:46.

19 views0 comments