top of page


Stratford senior Ben Barten was named the Marawood Conference Lineman of the Year, and earned first-team honors on both sides of the ball on the 2019 All-Marawood Conference Football Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker For Zaleski Sports

Champion Stratford had 11 selections and Auburndale landed six on the first team of the 2019 All-Marawood Conference Football Team, which was voted on by the six conference coaches following the season.

Stratford, which went a perfect 5-0 in the Marawood Conference and went on to finish as the WIAA Division 5 state runner-up for the second-straight season, had nine unanimous first-team selections, including senior Ben Barten, who was named Marawood Lineman of the Year.

Barten was a unanimous first-team pick on both the offensive and defensive line. Other unanimous first-team choices for the Tigers were receiver Chase Flink, tight end Vaughn Breit, offensive lineman Easton Kilty, running back Matt Handrick, defensive end Jaykob Mikelson, inside linebacker Justin Schoenherr, and defensive back Teddy Redman.

Inside linebacker Trevor Dennee and offensive lineman Dawson Moen were also first-team picks for Stratford.

Flink had 400 yards rushing and five touchdowns, and led the Tigers in receiving yards with 358. Breit had a team-high 17 catches for 318 yards and six touchdowns, and Handrick had 615 rushing yards and eight scores for Stratford.

Schoenherr led the Tigers in tackles with 62, Dennee had 50, and Barten had 29 tackles, 13 for loss.

Auburndale quarterback Cooper Weinfurter, receiver Hunter Wright, running back Kyle Peterson, and outside linebacker Brent Lau were unanimous first-team selections, and offensive lineman Cody Trowbridge and Weinfurter at defensive back were also picked to the first team for the Apaches.

Weinfurter threw for 1,351 yards and 13 touchdowns, ran for 241 yards and eight scores, and had 40 tackles and seven interceptions on defense, two of which he returned for touchdowns.

Edgar, which finished second in the conference and was the WIAA Division 7 state runner-up for the second year in a row, had eight first-team picks, seven unanimously.

Offensive lineman Ethan Heil, Kaleb Hafferman at running back and defensive back, defensive end Adam Hannemann, outside linebacker Ausitn Dahlke, kicker Austin Miller and punter Mason Stoudt were unanimous picks, and defensive lineman R.J. Knetter was also picked to the first team for the Wildcats. Hafferman was chosen as the Marawood Back of the Year.

Hafferman finished with 1,050 yards rushing and 25 touchdowns, and defensively he had 57 tackles, five forced fumbles, four pass interceptions and four defensive touchdowns for the Wildcats.

2019 All-Marawood Conference Football Team First Team (*denotes unanimous selection) Offense Quarterback: *Cooper Weinfurter, sr., Auburndale. Receivers: *Hunter Wright, jr., Auburndale; *Chase Flink, sr., Stratford. Fullback/tight end: *Vaughn Breit, sr., Stratford. Line: *Ben Barten, sr., Stratford; *Ethan Heil, sr., Edgar; *Easton Kilty, sr., Stratford; Mike Hahn, jr., Marathon; Dawson Moen, sr., Stratford; Cody Trowbridge, sr., Auburndale. Running backs: *Kyle Peterson, sr., Auburndale; *Kaleb Hafferman, sr., Edgar; *Matt Handrick, sr., Stratford. Kicker: *Austin Miller, sr., Edgar. Defense Ends: *Jaykob Mikelson, sr., Stratford; *Adam Hannemann, sr., Edgar. Outside linebackers: *Austin Dahlke, jr., Edgar; *Brent Lau, sr., Auburndale. Inside linebackers: *Devin Hall, sr., Marathon; *Justin Schoenherr, sr., Stratford; Trevor Dennee, sr., Stratford. Line: *Ben Barten, sr., Stratford; R.J. Knetter, jr., Edgar. Backs: *Kaleb Hafferman, sr., Edgar; *Teddy Redman, sr., Stratford; Cooper Weinfurter, sr., Auburndale. Punter: *Mason Stoudt, sr., Edgar. Second Team Offense Quarterback: Max Schwabe, sr., Stratford. Receivers: Paul Kollross, sr., Auburndale; Drew Guden, jr., Edgar. Fullback/tight end: Brayden Baumgartner, jr., Edgar; Beau Gross, jr., Stratford; Logan Bishop, so., Tomahawk. Line: Max Larson, jr., Edgar; Zach Schutte, sr., Edgar; Nathan Seubert, sr., Marathon; Clayton Lyons, sr., Rib Lake/Prentice; Tyler Beck, jr., Tomahawk. Defense Ends: Nathan Seubert, sr., Marathon; Kyle Peterson, sr., Auburndale. Outside linebackers: Kole Kaldunski, sr., Marathon; Kade Wenninger, jr., Tomahawk; Schuyler Gilhausen, jr., Auburndale; Josh Jast, sr., Rib Lake/Prentice. Inside linebacker: Cody Trowbridge, sr., Auburndale. Line: Austin Low, sr., Auburndale; Mike Hahn, jr., Marathon; Tony Matti, sr., Tomahawk; Clayton Lyons, sr., Rib Lake/Prentice. Backs: Clarke Mouw, sr., Marathon; Kyle Brewster, jr., Edgar. Punter: Jaden Koeller, so., Marathon. Honorable Mention Offense Quarterback: Konnor Wolf, jr., Edgar. Receivers: Fletcher Raab, sr., Auburndale; Isaiah Nelson, sr., Rib Lake/Prentice. Fullback/tight end: Justin Radke, sr., Stratford; Kade Wenninger, jr., Tomahawk. Running backs: Devin Dennee, sr., Stratford; Cody Jablonski, sr., Tomahawk. Line: Jesse Fowler, so., Auburndale; Seth Low, sr., Auburndale; Logan Ludwig, sr., Marathon; Carter Scheithauer, jr., Rib Lake/Prentice; Tony Matti, sr., Tomahawk. Defense Ends: Korbyn Bauman, jr., Edgar. Inside linebackers: Ausitn Dobson, sr., Rib Lake/Prentice. Outside linebackers: Kolby Koeller, sr., Marathon; Colton Schillinger, jr., Stratford. Backs: Hunter Godard, sr., Auburndale; Caden Higgins, sr., Edgar; Mason Stoudt, sr., Edgar; Sam Gumz, so., Rib Lake/Prentice; Chandler Schmidt, sr., Stratford; Austin Snow, sr., Tomahawk. Back of the Year: Kaleb Hafferman, sr., RB/DB, Edgar. Lineman of the Year: Ben Barten, sr., OT/DT, Stratford.

1 view0 comments