top of page


Updated: Aug 2, 2021

Medford's Caleb Guden named Great Northern Conference Player of the Year. Photo Courtesy: Medford Baseball Facebook

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Medford junior Caleb Guden was named Player of the Year and was one of four Raiders named to the first team of the 2021 All-Great Northern Conference Baseball Team.

Guden was named to the first team as both a pitcher and infielder after batting .476 (20-for-42) with two home runs, 10 stolen bases, 14 RBIs, and a 6-0 mark with a 1.27 ERA and 47 strikeouts on the mound for Medford in conference play. The Raiders won the Great Northern Conference championship with a perfect 12-0 record.

Also named to the first team for Medford, which finished 23-3 overall, were senior outfielders Nate Retterath and Blaine Seidl, and senior utility player Spike Alexander.

Mosinee senior infielder Tanner Miller was named to the first team after finishing fourth in the conference in batting with a .457 average and 12 RBIs in GNC action.

Senior catcher Brayden Hoen, junior pitcher Trevor Garski, junior infielder Drake Grod, junior outfielder Trevor Garski, and senior utility player Matthew Dedei were second-team selections for Mosinee, which finished fourth in the conference with a 7-5 record.

2021 All-Great Northern Conference Baseball Team

First Team

Pitchers: Caleb Guden, jr., Medford; Isaac Bixby, sr., Rhinelander.

Catcher: Connor Kolz, jr., Antigo.

Infielders: Eli Fleischman, sr., Antigo; Caleb Guden, jr., Medford; Tanner Miller, sr., Mosinee; Quinn Lamers, sr., Rhinelander.

Outfielders: Max Toijala, sr., Lakeland; Nate Retterath, sr., Medford; Blaine Seidl, sr., Medford.

Utility players: Spike Alexander, sr., Medford; Sam Schneider, so., Rhinelander.

Second Team

Pitchers: Spike Alexander, sr., Medford; Trevor Garski, jr., Mosinee.

Catcher: Brayden Hoen, sr., Mosinee.

Infielders: Erik Albertus, sr., Lakeland; Drake Grod, jr., Mosinee; Tanner Hraby, fr., Medford; Isaac Vedder, sr., Northland Pines.

Outfielders: Trevor Garski, jr., Mosinee; Sam Schneider, so., Rhinelander; Isaiah Scheffler, sr., Tomahawk.

Utility players: Logan Thomae, sr., Antigo; Matthew Dedei, sr., Mosinee.

Honorable Mention

Pitchers: Eli Flesichman, sr., Antigo; Zach Peterson, jr., Lakeland; Mitch McCanles, sr., Northland Pines.

Catchers: Aiden Gardner, jr., Medford; Joe Schneider, jr., Rhinelander.

Infielders: Mathew Dudei, sr., Mosinee; Logan Thomae, sr., Antigo; Elliott Orgeman, sr., Antigo; Tanner Unertl, jr., Mosinee; Alex Fortier, sr., Lakeland.

Outfielders: Will Kubeny, jr., Antigo; Emett Grunwald, sr., Medford.

Player of the Year: Caleb Guden, Medford.

Coach of the Year: Justin Hraby, Medford.

67 views0 comments