top of page


Medford sophomore Martha Miller named GNC Player of the Year. Photo Courtesy: CW Edge Fastpitch Twitter

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Medford sophomore pitcher Martha Miller earned Player of the Year honors and was one of three Raiders named to the first team of the 2021 All-Great Northern Conference Softball Team.

Miller was 11-0 with 122 strikeouts and a miniscule 0.22 ERA (2 earned runs in 63 1/3 innings pitched) for the Raiders, who won the GNC championship with a 12-0 record. She also hit .333 with 18 runs scored and nine RBIs.

Joining Miller on the first team from Medford were senior Allie Wesle and sophomore Allie Paulson.

Mosinee had one first-team and one second-team selection after finishing tied for third place with a 7-5 mark.

Senior Zoe Gburek was a first-team pick and Hailey Shnowske a second-team honoree for the Indians.

Gburek hit .421 with two home runs, 12 RBIs and 16 runs scored in conference play. Shnowske hit .313 with eight RBIs and nine runs scored for Mosinee.

2021 All-Great Northern Conference Softball Team

First team: Sam Swartz, jr., Antigo; Martha Miller, so., Medford; Allie Wesle, sr., Medford; Allie Paulson, so., Medford; Zoe Gburek, sr., Mosinee; Lucy Lurvey, sr., Northland Pines; Molly Mott, sr., Tomahawk; Alonna Weix, sr., Antigo; Larissa Klapatauskas, jr., Medford; Lexi Frieboth, jr., Mosinee; Addi DeMeyer, so., Rhinelander; Maddie Marino, jr., Tomahawk.

Second team: Makala Beck, so., Antigo; Ellie Preboski, sr., Antigo; Delani Clausnitzer, sr., Medford; Rynn Ruesch, jr., Medford; Morgan Huegli, so., Medford; Makala Ulrich, jr., Medford; Hailey Shnowske, jr., Mosinee; Carley Huelskamp, fr., Northland Pines; Halle Kerner, jr., Northland Pines; Kylie White, sr., Rhinelander; Hannah Worachek, sr., Rhinelander; Addison Bartz, sr., Tomahawk.

Honorable mention: Abbi Noskowiak, sr., Antigo; Laura Burkhart, so., Antigo; Lily Weix, so., Antigo; Natalie Dewey, sr., Antigo; Camille Quade, sr., Lakeland; Katie Brehm, jr., Medford; Adeline Strejc, fr., Mosinee; Amber Gonzalez, fr., Mosinee; Jillian Sirny, sr., Mosinee; Mackenzie Scholz, so., Tomahawk; Meghan Scholz, so., Tomahawk; Scout Stromberg, fr., Tomahawk.

Player of the Year: Martha Miller, Medford.

Coach of the Year: Virgil Berndt, Medford.

199 views0 comments