top of page


Mosinee senior Kate Fitzgerald was a first-team selection on the 2021-22 All-Great Northern Conference Girls Basketball Team.

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Mosinee seniors Lexi Freiboth and Kate Fitzgerald were unanimous first-team selections to the 2021-22 All-Great Northern Conference Girls Basketball Team.

The Mosinee duo were joined on the first team by Lakeland junior Julianna Ouimette and freshman Kristina Ouimette, and Rhinelander senior Audrey Schiek. Julianna Ouimette was named Player of the Year.

Fitzgerald led Mosinee in scoring and rebounding, averaging 14.9 points and 9.3 board per game. Freiboth averaged 9.8 points, 6.4 assists and 4.5 steals per game for the Indians, who won the conference title with a perfect 12-0 record.

Julianna Ouimette averaged a conference-high 19.9 points per game, while shooting 55 percent from the field, 78 percent at the free throw line and 45 percent from 3-point range. She also averaged a team-high 7.9 rebounds and 7.6 assists per game for Lakeland.

Kristina Ouimette averaged 16.5 points per game with a team-best 77 3-pointers for the Thunderbirds.

Schiek averaged 12.5 points and 4.2 rebounds per game for Rhinelander.

Adalyn Lehman was a second-team selection and Claire Selenske was an honorable mention choice as well for Mosinee.

Mosinee coach Scott McKellips was named Coach of the Year.

2021-22 All-Great Northern Conference Girls Basketball Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First team: *Julianna Ouimette, jr., Lakeland; *Lexi Freiboth, sr., Mosinee; *Kate Fitzgerald, sr., Mosinee; Kristina Ouimette, fr., Lakeland; Audrey Schiek, sr., Rhinelander.

Second team: Adalyn Lehman, sr., Mosinee; Sophie Schlieve, jr., Antigo; Bryn Fronk, jr., Medford; Jenna Placek, sr., Mosinee; Samantha Huelskamp, sr., Northland Pines.

Honorable mention: Megan Brown, sr., Rhinelander; Rynn Ruesch, sr., Medford; Laurissa Klapatauskas, sr., Medford; Lily Fortier, jr., Lakeland; Saylor Timmerman, fr., Lakeland; Ava Lamers, jr., Rhinelander; Lily Weix, jr., Antigo; Claire Selenske, sr., Mosinee; Anna Lucht, sr., Antigo; Emily Rottier-Douangmala, jr., Northland Pines.

Player of the Year: Julianna Ouimette, Lakeland.

Coach of the Year: Scott McKellips, Mosinee.

159 views0 comments