google-site-verification=ps-O59qvSC7A58hGVIbvaZZ8LwmWDbiimRjKUU99UCU
  • paul63985

MARSHFIELD BOYS SOCCER OPENS SEASON WITH SPLIT VS. HORTONVILLE, WAUSAU EAST


Zaleski Sports


The Marshfield High School boys soccer team opened its 2020 season with a split in its first two games over the weekend.


Marshfield lost at Hortonville 2-0 on Friday night and pulled out a 3-1 win at Wausau East on Saturday.


On Friday, Marshfield had seven shots on goal but couldn’t get one past Polar Bears’ goalkeeper Logan Gaupp, who saved all of them.


Trevor Cassidy had nine saves in goal for Marshfield.


On Saturday, Sam Roherty had a hat trick to account for all three of Marshfield’s goals. Brian Fay and Ian Haugen had assists, and Cassidy had four saves in the win.


Marshfield has 12 seniors on this year’s team as it heads into a Wisconsin Valley Conference-only season, playing 12 games in a four-week stretch.


Seniors on the 2020 Tigers’ squad are: Roherty and Fay at forward; Spencer Frey, Haugen, Damin Escudero, and Alejandro Mayagoitia at midfield; Logan Meyer, Alex Simon, Nick Urban and Tim Kraus at defense; and Cassidy and Tanner Nelles at goalkeeper.


Others on the squad are forward/midfielder Julian Clopton and Brett Mannigel, midfielder Graham Lonsdale, and defenders Gavin Young, Lucas Barth and Braxton Kurth.


Marshfield plays at Wisconsin Rapids on Tuesday night.


MARSHFIELD BOYS SOCCER SCHEDULE Tue., Sept. 29 at Wisconsin Rapids, 7 p.m. Thur., Oct. 1 at Merrill, 7 p.m. Sat., Oct. 3 at Wausau West, 11 a.m. Tue., Oct. 6 D.C. EVEREST, 7 p.m. Sat., Oct. 10 HORTONVILLE, 11 a.m. Tue., Oct. 13 WAUSAU EAST, 7 p.m. Thur., Oct. 15 WISCONSIN RAPIDS, 7 p.m. Sat., Oct. 17 MERRILL, 11 a.m. Tue., Oct. 20 WAUSAU WEST, 7 p.m. Thur., Oct. 22 at D.C. Everest, 7 p.m. Home games in CAPS, at Heiting Stadium, Marshfield High School

61 views

© 2023 by TheHours. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon

Subscribe to Our Newsletter