top of page


Zaleski Sports

WAUSAU – D.C. Everest edged Stevens Point by one stroke to win the team title at the WIAA Division 1 boys golf regional at Wausau Country Club on Tuesday.

D.C. Everest, behind three golfers who ended up in the top 10, finished with a 337, with Stevens Point second with a 338 as senior Logan Pechinski, the Wisconsin Valley Conference individual champion, won the regional crown with a 76.

Wausau West finished third with a 352 as Lucca Tonelli tied for second with a 79, and Antigo was fourth with a 355.

The top four teams and top four individuals not on qualifying teams move on to the Division 1 sectional June 8 at Greenwood Hills Country Club in Wausau. The top two teams and top three individuals not on those teams earn spots in the WIAA Division 1 State Boys Golf Championships on June 14-15 at Wild Rock Golf Club in Wisconsin Dells.

Marshfield finished fifth in the team standings, eight shots behind Antigo, but senior Jaxon Bulgrin will move on to sectionals after earning the third of four individual spots. He finished tied for 10th with an 85.

Ian Haugen had a 91, Caden Machtan shot a 92, Seht Peterson had a 94 and Ethan Schnitzler shot a 105 to round out the Marshfield team.

Wausau East’s Carter Cygan tied for second with a 79, Rhinelander’s Koldyn Gechas tied for fourth with an 81, and teammate Andrew Henrichs finished 14th with an 89 to earn the other three individual slots at the sectional.

WIAA Division 1 Boys Golf Regional

June 1, at Wausau Country Club

(*Denotes qualifier for D-1 sectional, June 8 at Greenwood Hills Country Club, Wausau; Top four individuals not on qualifying teams move on to sectional)

Team scores: *1. D.C. Everest 337; *2. Stevens Point 338; *3. Wausau West 352; *4. Antigo 355; 5. Marshfield 363; 6. Rhinelander 373; 7. Wausau East 385; 8. Merrill 412.

Top 15 individuals: 1. Logan Pechinski (SP) 76; 2. Lucca Tonelli (WW) and *Carter Cygan (WE) 79; 4. Joe Volpentesta (ANT), *Koldyn Gechas (RH) and Alex Samolinski (ANT) 81; 7. Owen Bunnell (DC) 82; 8. Nate Earnest (SP) and Tanner Courtright (DC) 84; 10. Andy Ziemer (DC) and *Jaxon Bulgrin (MAR) 85; 12. Charlie Strasser (DC) 86; 13. Ethan Thomas (SP) 88; 14. *Andrew Henrichs (RH) 89; 15. Adam Prokop (WW) and Cael Bolton (SP) 90.

43 views0 comments