top of page


Columbus Catholic sophomore Dorci Walker was a first-team selection to the 2019 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Volleyball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

Marshfield Columbus Catholic, co-champions of the Cloverbelt Conference East Division, had five players picked to the 2019 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Volleyball Team, as voted on by the eight conference coaches following the season.

Columbus Catholic finished with a 6-1 record, tying for first place with Gilman, and reached the WIAA Division 4 sectional semifinals before losing to Wausau Newman Catholic.

Sophomore hitter Dorci Walker and junior setter Meghan Kibbel were first-team picks for the Dons. Walker led the team with 353 kills and 97 service aces, and Kibbel had 811 assists for Columbus Catholic.

Junior hitter Emmalee Jicinsky and senior hitter Jessica Jakopin were second-team selections for Columbus. Jicinsky ranked second (248) and Jakopin third (188) in kills, and Jakopin led the team in total blocks with 90.

Junior libero Sydney Litwaitis, the Dons’ top defender with 436 digs, was an honorable mention choice.

Spencer did not have a player selected to the all-conference team.

Gilman senior Evelyn Fryza was named Player of the Year.

2019 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Volleyball Team

First team: Dorci Walker, so., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Megan Kibbel, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Evelyn Fryza, sr., Gilman; Grace Grunseth, sr., Gilman; Remi Geiger, sr., Loyal; Ellie Moseid, sr., Neillsville; Brianna Simington, sr., Owen-Withee.

Second team: Emma Peavey, jr., Colby; Emmalee Jicinsky, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Jessica Jakopin, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Montana Birkenholz, sr., Gilman; Lydia Syryczuk, sr., Gilman; Katlyn Lindner, jr., Loyal; Hannah Shelton, sr., Owen-Withee.

Honorable mention: Sydney Litwaitis, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Jaiden Sedivy, sr., Gilman; Amanda Bogdonovich, sr., Greenwood; Kayla Bremmer, jr., Loyal; Bianca Fischer, sr., Neillsville; Natalie Walsh, sr., Neillsville; Samantha LaRock, sr., Owen-Withee.

Player of the Year: Evelyn Fryza, Gilman.

2 views0 comments