top of page


CW-East Player of the Year - Ben Lee

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Conference champion Amherst had four players named to the first team of the 2021 All-Central Wisconsin Conference East Division Baseball Team, including Player of the Year Ben Lee.

Junior outfielder Jake Hoffman, junior pitcher/shortstop Landon Moe, sophomore Wyatt Blaskowski pitcher/shortstop, and Lee, a junior pitcher/first baseman, were first-team picks for Amherst, which won the conference title with an 11-1 record and finished 19-6 overall, reaching the WIAA Division 3 sectionals.

Joining them on the first team were Austin Rekow and Austin Worzall of Wittenberg-Birnamwood, Jack Scott and Caden Schmidt of Shiocton, and Garrett Engel and Cole Anderson of Bonduel.

Lee allowed just six runs, two earned, and 14 hits in 47 2/3 innings, for a miniscule 0.29 ERA. He had 88 strikeouts and a 7-1 record with one save and three complete-game shutouts for the Falcons. He also hit .368 with a home run, 23 RBIs and 24 runs scored.

Moe hit .366 with a home run, a team-high 29 RBIs and 23 runs scored; Hoffman led the team with a .392 batting average and in runs scored with 38; and Blaskowski batted .342 with 19 RBIs and 24 runs scored. Moe also went 3-2 with a save and 36 strikeouts in 28 1/3 innings pitched.

Sophomore Tyler Soulsby was a second-team selection, and Lars Evensen and Matt Glodowski were honorable mention picks for Amherst.

Bill Held of Amherst was named Coach of the Year.

2021 All-Central Wisconsin Conference East Division Baseball Team

First team: Austin Rekow, sr., P/OF, Wittenberg-Birnamwood; Austin Worzalla, sr., P/SS/3B, Wittenberg-Birnamwood; Jack Scott, sr., SS, Shiocton; Caden Schmidt, sr., P/IF, Shiocton; Jake Hoffman, jr., CF, Amherst; Ben Lee, jr., P/1B, Amherst; Wyatt Blaskowski, so., P/SS, Amherst; Landon Moe, jr., P/SS, Amherst; Garrett Engel, sr., C, Bonduel; Cole Anderson, sr., P/3B, Bonduel.

Second team: Bryce Zoromwski, sr., C, Wittenberg-Birnamwood; Ian Salvesen, fr., 2B, Wittenberg-Birnamwood; Chase Krull, so., CF, Wittenberg-Birnamwood; Wendell Waukau, jr., IF/P, Menominee Indian; Dawson Schmidt, so., IF, Shiocton; Bennett Wilcox, so., Shiocton; Bo Witkowski, sr., Weyauwega-Fremont; Tyler Soulsby, so., P/3B, Amherst; Jack Johnson, sr., P/OF, Bonduel; Brett Margelofsky, sr., P/OF, Bonduel.

Honorable mention: Isaiah Hoyord, jr., IF/C/OF, Iola-Scandinavia; Marcus Jaworski, sr., P/SS, Iola-Scandinavia; Parker Gullixon, so., C, Iola-Scandinavia; Jamison Besaw, P/OF, Menominee Indian; George Bruette, IF/P, Menominee Indian; Jacob Doede, sr., Weyauwega-Fremont; Quinn Dittmann, jr., Weyauwega-Fremont; Logan Bartel, sr., Weyauwega-Fremont; Lars Evensen, sr., C, Amherst; Matt Glodwoski, so., 2B, Amherst; Carson Robaidek, sr., SS, Bonduel.

Player of the Year: Ben Lee, Amherst.

Coach of the Year: Bill Held, Amherst.